<?xml version="1.0"?>
<rss version="2.0"><channel><link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/tag/databases</link>
<title>PennTags Feed for /tag/databases</title>
<description>PennTags Feed</description>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/url/43833</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/url/43833</link>
<title>PubMed Plus</title>
<description>&lt;p&gt;PubMed is the public access version to Medline, the premier database for biomedical literature. PubMedPlus is an enhanced version with links to full-text journals that the Penn Library subscribes to.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/url/43149</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/url/43149</link>
<title>JISC Academic Database Assessment Tool</title>
<description/></item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/url/15080</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/url/15080</link>
<title>Many more...</title>
<description/></item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/url/38027</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/url/38027</link>
<title>JISC Academic Database Assessment Tool</title>
<description>&lt;p&gt;The JISC Academic Database Assessment Tool (ADAT) aims to help libraries to make informed decisions about future subscriptions to bibliographic databases.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The site provides access to detailed information and title lists for major bibliographic and full text databases, and key service information for database and eBook content platforms.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/37486</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/37486</link>
<title>America: History and Life</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;Covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Articles from 1964 to the present.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/15558</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/15558</link>
<title>EMBASE</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;EMBASE&lt;br /&gt;Holdings: 1980-&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/project/33594</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/project/33594</link>
<title>Fair Use in the Academic Arena</title>
<description>Within the academic arena librarians, professors, and researchers alike, are often unaware of the rights they have to use or reproduce many copyrighted sources.  Throughout time, technological advances, starting with the photocopier, have been blamed for the confusion over fair use and other legal copyright practices within the academic setting.  This is because Copyright Law, though seemingly technologically neutral, does not account for advances in technology that are made between modifications of the law, which cannot change as often as people would like.  Another culprit seems to be publications that, in an attempt to elucidate fair use in an understandable language, often convey the rights of academic persons to educational resources by listing what they cannot do, instead of what they can.  This kind of language and approach has led many to shy away from the use of certain resources that could very well influence the effectiveness of their work, for fear that they will be sued.    
With the vastly increasing number of ways a computer and other technologies can be used, now, more than ever, it is crucial that students and educators become aware of their rights to the intellectual property that is so readily available to them.  Though some laws have been set in place to protect the rights of publishers, printers, and authors in this respect, many of these issues must still be understood through the application of fair use principles.  For this reason, my essay focuses on issues of fair use in the academic setting and the ways academic experiences can be negatively affected my common misinterpretations of it.  I intend to show how such confusion over issues of fair use is disruptive and detrimental to scholarly pursuits, and argue for the incorporation of fair use education for all members of an academic setting.       
</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/url/34675</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/url/34675</link>
<title>Copyright Code Developed to Guide Teachers</title>
<description>&lt;p&gt;This Pittsburgh Post-Gazette article was written about the release of the "Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for Media Literacy Education."&amp;nbsp; Ultimately it argues for the same thing that both I and the "Code" argue for, which is the importance of an understanding of how to use intellectual property within educational settings to their fullest extent without worrying that one will become liable for copyright infringement.&amp;nbsp; This article takes a different approach then some of my other resources by giving examples of educators and the media they have used to convey crucial messages about things such as health and gender relations to their students.&amp;nbsp; This article also includes some brief thoughts and opinions from these educators, including Renee Hobbs, professor of communication at Temple University who was personally involved with the development of the "Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for Media Literacy Education," and one of the three principal investigators to help develop "The Cost of Copyright Confusion for Media Literacy."&amp;nbsp; I believe the information in this article will add a level of agency to my own argument, not only because it will provide one with realistic examples of the ways in wich media can be used in the dissemination of important information via the academic setting, but because these examples come from the point of view of educators who understand, first hand, the importance knowing what media needs to be used to create an effective curriculum, and how many educators have reluctantly steered away from the use of effective media for fear of being sued.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/voyager/34970</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/voyager/34970</link>
<title>Rice, David A.  "Legal-Technological Regulation of Information Access"</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;&lt;span style="text-decoration: underline;"&gt;Libraries, museums, and archives : legal issues and ethical challenges in the new information era / edited by Tomas A. Lipinski. &lt;/span&gt; 0810840855 (hbk. : alk. paper)     series  Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2002.  &lt;br /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;In this text, Rice outlines the contractual and technological regulations that have been placed on the access of digital information.&amp;nbsp; His argument is that information is the "common fiber of science, arts, hostory, culture, and even self," and that the press to privatize control over acces to digital information "diminishes the luster of the late-twentieth-and early-twenty-first-century opening of the information society."&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Specifically Rice focuses on the implications of the privatization of control over things such cultural knowledge, including folklore, legends, and information on heritage, in cases where this information would not be legally accessible to members of the represented culture.&amp;nbsp; Rice argues that the importance of the information era is the access one has to learn about the things most intimately related to him as a person.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I find this essay useful because, though it targets the wrongfulness of privatized control from a deeply personal level, the underlying question of whether all information should be accessible to everyone is also present, because within the academic arena researchers develop relationships with information that may have no relevance to their cultural backgrounds but remains as personal to them as if it did.&amp;nbsp; This essay also asks its reader to think about the kind of information he would not want to be withheld from him.&amp;nbsp; Though the essay doesn't specifically get at the issue of confusion over copyright and fair use issues within an academic setting, it does provide an awareness of what information may be being withheld from researchers, and forces those researchers to consider the usefulness of this kind of information to there personal projects.&amp;nbsp; This kind of awareness goes hand in hand with the understanding of fair use and copyright that my thesis argues for because it emphasizes the importance of having an active and correct knowledge of fair use and copyright issues that affect university settings, in order to get the most out of ones education.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/30479</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/30479</link>
<title>America: History and Life</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;Great database!&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;America: History and Life&lt;br /&gt;History of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.&lt;br /&gt;Holdings: 1964  to present.  Updated three times a year.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/url/29727</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/url/29727</link>
<title>Anthropology and Archaeology</title>
<description/></item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28565</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28565</link>
<title>America: History and Life</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;  Covers the history of the United States and Canada from   prehistory to the present. Articles from 1964 to the present. Article abstracts may reference various published and unpublished diaries.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28567</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28567</link>
<title>MLA International Bibliography</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;Covers literature, languages, folklore, and linguistics. Includes English and foreign languages. Articles from 1963 to the present.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28568</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28568</link>
<title>Periodicals Index Online</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;Includes many references to articles about diaries and reviews of published diaries.  Covers 18th-20th century publications.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28569</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28569</link>
<title>Victorian Database Online</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;Content covers the time period from 1830-1914.   Publication dates of articles represent 1945 to present.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28566</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28566</link>
<title>Historical Abstracts</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present.  Excludes United States and Canada.  Articles published 1974 to  the present.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28186</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28186</link>
<title>ISI Citation Indexes  (Web of Science)</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;Indexes journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.  Allows for cited reference searching.  Includes &lt;em&gt;Science Citation Index&lt;/em&gt;, the &lt;em&gt;Social Science Citation Index&lt;/em&gt;, and the &lt;em&gt;Arts &amp;amp; Humanities Citation Index&lt;/em&gt;. Search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address, as well as for articles that cite a known author or work.  &lt;br /&gt; &lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28185</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28185</link>
<title>Alt-Press Watch</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;Provides fulltext for U.S. alternative and independent newspapers, weeklies, magazines, and journals. Topics include the arts, media and popular culture, business and labor, literature and criticism, politics, government and public policy.&lt;br /&gt;Holdings: Coverage varies, from 1990.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28184</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28184</link>
<title>Sociological Abstracts</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;Covers sociology, case work, demographics, policy studies, political science, family studies, feminist studies, and social security programs.&lt;br /&gt;Holdings: 1963 to the present. Updated bimonthly.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28183</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28183</link>
<title>PsycINFO</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;The American Psychological Association's comprehensive indexing and abstracting service for the professional and scholarly literature in psychology and related fields. Coverage is worldwide. Sources are in English and over thirty languages.&lt;br /&gt;Holdings: 1887 to the present. Updated monthly.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28182</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28182</link>
<title>MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;Covers literature, languages, folklore, and linguistics.  Includes English and foreign languages. &lt;br /&gt;Holdings: Covers 1963 to the present. New records are added ten times a year.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28181</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28181</link>
<title>Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;Broad collection of fulltext scholarly journals and related periodicals in all scholarly disciplines. Includes bibliographic citations, indexing and abstracting for more than 8,000 periodicals. A component of EBSCO MegaFILE.&lt;br /&gt;Holdings: Coverage varies: mostly 1990s to present.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28180</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28180</link>
<title>Websites on Women -  International Information Centre and Archives for the Women's Movement</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;This database contains descriptions of and links to websites with information on the position of women and on women's studies, made accessible on subject and category. The IIAV is the source, the intermediary and the supplier of information and documentation for all those who occupy themselves with the position of women, whether it concerns books, periodicals, data, addresses, archives, visual materials, current or historical, national or international.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28179</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28179</link>
<title>EBSCO MegaFILE</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;General, multidisciplinary fulltext periodical database, covering all scholarly disciplines, with many general and popular magazines, and news sources. Includes bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000 periodicals.&lt;br /&gt;Holdings: Coverage varies: mostly 1990s to present.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/project/28178</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/project/28178</link>
<title>More Useful Databases and Indexes</title>
<description/></item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28177</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28177</link>
<title>Women in Politics Bibliographic Database</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;Bibliographic citations for books and articles on women's participation in political life worldwide. Produced by the Inter-Parliamentary Union with support from United Nations Development Programme.&lt;br /&gt;Holdings: 1948-present&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28176</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28176</link>
<title>Left Index</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;Bibliographic citations for the &amp;quot;literature on the left&amp;quot;. Topics include anarchism, art and esthetics, community organizing, culture studies, ecology and environmental studies, economics, gay and lesbian studies, globalization, history, indigenous people's rights, labor, law, philosophy, politics, prisons and criminal justice, race and ethnicity, social theory and sociology, and women's studies and feminism.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28175</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28175</link>
<title>Alternative Press Index</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;Indexes over 250 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Includes selected abstracts from research journals. &lt;br /&gt;Holdings: 1991 to present&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28174</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28174</link>
<title>GenderWatch</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;GenderWatch, formerly titled Women 'R', contains 40,000 articles from more than 100 journals, magazines, newsletters, special reports, unpublished papers and conference proceedings devoted to gender and women's issues. &lt;br /&gt;Holdings: The database contains a large body of archival material, in some cases, as far back as 1970.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28173</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28173</link>
<title>Women's Studies Encyclopedia</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;Information about women from all fields and disciplines of study, with an emphasis on American issues. Articles are written in nonspecialist language and include bibliographic citations for further reading.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28172</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28172</link>
<title>Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;A searchable collection of primary documents and images on a wide range of topics pertaining to U.S. women's history.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28171</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/28171</link>
<title>Contemporary Women's Issues</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;This full-text database provides international coverage of current issues such as employment and the workplace, social &amp;amp; political issues, violence and exploitation, development and human rights, health and reproductive rights, legal issues, education, culture and customs, demographics, contemporary family life, and arts and media.&lt;br /&gt;Holdings: 1992 to the present, (selected reports back to 1990).&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/project/28170</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/project/28170</link>
<title>Fem Databases &amp; Indexes</title>
<description/></item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/project/24085</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/project/24085</link>
<title>Urban Studies Databases</title>
<description/></item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/url/24084</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/url/24084</link>
<title>Urban Studies Databases</title>
<description>All databases for Urban Studies</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/24083</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/24083</link>
<title>ISI Citation Indexes  (Web of Science)</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;Indexes journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.  Allows for cited reference searching.Search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address, as well as for articles that cite a known author or work.  &lt;br /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/24082</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/24082</link>
<title>EBSCO MegaFILE</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;General, multidisciplinary fulltext periodical database, covering all scholarly disciplines, with many general and popular magazines, and news sources. Includes bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000 periodicals.&lt;br /&gt;Holdings: Coverage varies: mostly 1990s to present.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/url/19956</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/url/19956</link>
<title>Philadelphia Studies E-Resources at Penn</title>
<description>This link presents the collection of electoronic resources at the Penn Library related to Philadelphia Studies.</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/url/12119</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/url/12119</link>
<title>Franklin (Penn's Online Catalog)</title>
<description/></item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/7819</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/7819</link>
<title>OVID Multi-Database Searching</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;OVID Multi-Database Searching&lt;br /&gt;This OVID interface allows users to search multiple databases simultaneously. Deduping allows one to remove duplicates from the resulting search before viewing, saving, or printing the set.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/7818</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/7818</link>
<title>CAB Abstracts (OVID)</title>
<description>CAB Abstracts&lt;br /&gt;Formerly produced by Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux, this database comprises international coverage of veterinary medicine, agriculture, forestry and related bio-science fields, including: human health; human nutrition; animal health; and resource management and conservation. The database includes over 3 million records with 30% of the coverage relating to crop production, 24% in veterinary and human health, 13% in animal sciences, 13% in crop protection, and 19-20% of the content covering a wide array of other, related topics.&lt;br /&gt;Holdings: 1910 to the present. Updated monthly.</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/url/2614</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/url/2614</link>
<title>PubMed Plus</title>
<description>PubMed is the public access version to Medline, the premier database for biomedical literature. PubMedPlus is an enhanced version with links to full-text journals that the Penn Library subscribes to.</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/7820</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/7820</link>
<title>Agricola (OVID)</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;The topics covered in this USDA database include: agriculture, agronomy, animal science, biology, biotechnology, botany, breeding, chemistry, conservation, crop management, dairy science, ecology, entomology, farm management, feed science, fertilizers, food and nutrition, forestry, horticulture, hydrology, hydroponics, microbiology, nutrition, pesticides, physiology, plant science, pollution, soil science, water quality, and zoology. Resources in all languages are represented.&lt;br /&gt;Holdings: 1979 to present. Updates monthly.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/7824</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/7824</link>
<title>Aquaculture Abstracts (ASFA)</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;Aquaculture Abstracts (ASFA)&lt;br /&gt;Information on all aspects of marine and freshwater aquaculture. Major areas of coverage include; Aquaculture management and economics, Growth and development of cultured species, Techniques, equipment, methodology, feasibility studies, replenishing natureal stocks, and laboratory culture, Culture of fish and other vertebrates, Crustaceans, mollusks, and other invertebrates, Aquatic plants and algae, Protozoa and microorganisms, Reproductive biology, Biotechnology &lt;br /&gt;Holdings: 1984 to the present. Updated Bimonthly.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/7821</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/7821</link>
<title>BIOSIS Previews (OVID)</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;BIOSIS Previews&lt;br /&gt;The world's most comprehensive reference database in the life sciences. It covers original research reports and reviews in biological and biomedical areas. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology and microbiology, as well as related fields such as plant and animal science, agriculture, pharmacology and ecology. Interdisplinary fields such as biochemistry, biophysics, and bioengineering are also included. Resources in all languages are represented.&lt;br /&gt;Holdings: 1993 to the present. Updated monthly.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/7825</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/7825</link>
<title>Consultant - Vet Diagnostic Support</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;Consultant - Vet Diagnostic Support&lt;br /&gt;This diagnostic support system is used to suggest possible diagnoses or causes for clinical signs and symptoms and to provide a brief synopsis of the diagnosis/cause including: 1) a general description, 2) species affected, 3) the signs/symptoms associated with it, and 4) a list of recent literature references.&lt;br /&gt;Holdings: Current and retrospective&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/15557</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/15557</link>
<title>Global Health (OVID)</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;Global Health&lt;br /&gt;Global Health consists of more than 800,000 records from 1910 on -  equivalent to 300 volumes of research covering public health, tropical and communicable diseases, nutrition, helminthology, entomology and mycology.  &lt;br /&gt;Holdings: 1910-&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/7826</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/7826</link>
<title>Iknowledgenow</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;Iknowledgenow&lt;br /&gt;A growing veterinary portal offering access to full-text journal articles, conference proceedings, and books. Contains a search program allowing you to search all indexed resources. &lt;br /&gt;Holdings: Varies depending on resource&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/12903</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/12903</link>
<title>ISI Citation Indexes  (Web of Science)</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;ISI Citation Indexes (Web of Science)&lt;br /&gt;The ISI Citation Indexes include the &lt;em&gt;Science Citation Index&lt;/em&gt;, the &lt;em&gt;Social Science Citation Index&lt;/em&gt;, and the &lt;em&gt;Arts &amp;amp; Humanities Citation Index&lt;/em&gt;. &lt;br /&gt;Search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address, as well as for articles that cite a known author or work. &lt;br /&gt;&lt;br /&gt;Holdings: Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED)--1945-present &lt;br /&gt;Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)--1956-present &lt;br /&gt;Arts &amp;amp; Humanities Citation Index (A&amp;amp;HCI)--1975-present&lt;br /&gt;Updated weekly.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/7817</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/7817</link>
<title>MEDLINE (OVID)</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;The premier database for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology. Resources in all languages are represented. Searches can be limited to the Bioethics subset.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/15559</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/15559</link>
<title>Micromedex</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;Micromedex&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/7827</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/7827</link>
<title>WILDPro</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;WILDPro&lt;br /&gt;Provides information on the natural history, health and management of captive and free-ranging wild animals. This electronic tool includes encyclopedic links to topic modules and a library of external resources.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/url/12721</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/url/12721</link>
<title>All Health &amp; Life Science Databases</title>
<description/></item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/7823</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/7823</link>
<title>PsycINFO</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;PsycINFO&lt;br /&gt;-from CSA Databases&lt;br /&gt;The American Psychological Association's comprehensive indexing and abstracting service for the professional and scholarly literature in psychology and related fields. Coverage is worldwide. Sources are in English and over thirty languages.&lt;br /&gt;Holdings: 1887 to the present. Updated monthly.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/project/14988</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/project/14988</link>
<title>Communication Databases</title>
<description/></item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/13910</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/13910</link>
<title>Encyclopaedia of Islam</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;Encyclopaedia of Islam&lt;br /&gt;Before you start using this website, you need to install the Baskerville for Brill fonts. Directions are on the front page of the Encyclopedia site.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/13909</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/13909</link>
<title>Jewish Encyclopedia</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;Jewish Encyclopedia&lt;br /&gt;An on-line, searchable version of the complete contents of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia, originally published from 1901-1906. The encyclopedia contains over 15,000 articles and illustrations about the Jewish experience, including biographical entries and valuable subject essays. It is particularly useful for the bibliographical information it provides about different editions and publications of Judaica.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/13905</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/13905</link>
<title>LexisNexis Academic</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;LexisNexis Academic&lt;br /&gt;Access to full-text national and international newspapers , including the New York Times, and the Times of London business and accounting information, biographical data, and some selected  legal materials. News sources also include magazines, broadcast transcripts, and wire services. Among the document sources included are  the U.S. Code and Federal Case Law, state codes and case law, and U.S. patents. &lt;p&gt; Note that many Congressional publications including bills and laws, the &lt;em&gt;Congressional Record&lt;/em&gt;,  the &lt;em&gt;Federal Register&lt;/em&gt; and campaign finance and voting record data  which were previously available in LEXIS/NEXIS are now accessible through a companion database, &lt;a href="http://www.lexis-nexis.com/congcomp/"&gt;Congressional Universe&lt;/a&gt;.  &lt;br /&gt; &lt;br /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/13903</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/13903</link>
<title>Dissertation Abstracts</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;Dissertation Abstracts&lt;br /&gt;Indexing (since 1861) and abstracting (since 1980) for over 1.5 million doctoral-level dissertations completed at North American universities. Full-text is available in pdf format for the most recent Penn dissertations (si nce 1997). &lt;p&gt; Dissertations from selected European universities are also listed.  Selected master's theses are included since 1988. &lt;/p&gt;&lt;p&gt; One can search the database by:  author, keyword in title and/or abstract, adviser, university code, date, degree.  Boolean operators allow for combinations of fields.   &lt;br /&gt;Holdings: 1861-present.  About 47,000 new dissertations added each year.&lt;/p&gt;&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/13899</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/13899</link>
<title>Kiryat Sefer. Jewish National and University Library, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;Kiryat Sefer. Jewish National and University Library, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem&lt;br /&gt;&amp;quot;Kiryat-Sefer&amp;quot; is the national bibliography of the State of Israel and the Jewish people. The bibliography was established in 1925 in order to document materials published in Israel in a variety of disciplines and languages, and deposited in the Jewish National and University Library. In 1953 the Legal Deposit Law encompassed only printed material, and in 2001 was extended to non-printed material as well.  &lt;br /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/13898</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/13898</link>
<title>Index Islamicus</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;Index Islamicus&lt;br /&gt;Bibliographic citations with subject indexing on Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world in general, including Muslims in Africa and Asia and major Muslim minorities worldwide. Topics covered include: education, law, bibliography and scholarship, libraries, philosophy, natural and applied sciences, arts, architecture, geography and travel, social sciences, archaeology, history, economics, politics and current affairs, as well as religion and theology&lt;br /&gt;Holdings: 1906-present.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/13897</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/13897</link>
<title>RAMBI - Index of Articles on Jewish Studies</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;RAMBI - Index of Articles on Jewish Studies&lt;br /&gt;RAMBI, the Index of Articles on Jewish Studies, is a selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish Studies  and the study of the Land of Israel (Erets Israel), arranged by subject.  The material is compiled from thousands of periodical  and collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish and European Languages, mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and  University Library (JNUL).  Journals and new publications indexed cover the following subjuect areas: Booklore and Bibliography,  Bible, post-Biblical literature and Early Christianity, Rabbinic Literature and and the Jewish Law, Philosophy and Religion,  Litergy and the Jewish Annual Cycle, Literature, Language, Jewish History in the Diaspora, the Land of Israel, and the Cultural  Life of the Jewish People.  Includes author and subject indices.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/url/13889</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/url/13889</link>
<title>JSTOR - The Scholarly Journal Archive</title>
<description/></item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/13876</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/13876</link>
<title>Allgemeine Zeitung des Judentums</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;Allgemeine Zeitung des Judentums&lt;br /&gt;-from Compact Memory&lt;br /&gt;From Compact Memory collection- &amp;quot;a retrospective digitalization of Jewish periodicals from German-speaking countries.&amp;quot;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/13875</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/13875</link>
<title>Aleph: Historical Studies in Science and Judaism</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;Aleph: Historical Studies in Science and Judaism&lt;br /&gt;-from Project Muse&lt;br /&gt;Holdings: 2004-&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/url/13104</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/url/13104</link>
<title>HSLS: OBRC: Online Bioinformatics Resources Collection</title>
<description>Brief descriptions of over 1500 free bioinformatics databases and tools in immunology, genomics, and RNA.&lt;br /&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/url/7837</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/url/7837</link>
<title>More Vet Med Databases</title>
<description/></item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/6273</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/6273</link>
<title>America: History and Life</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;America: History and Life&lt;br /&gt;History of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.&lt;br /&gt;Holdings: 1964  to present.  Updated three times a year.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/6272</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/6272</link>
<title>America: History and Life</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;America: History and Life&lt;br /&gt;History of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.&lt;br /&gt;Holdings: 1964  to present.  Updated three times a year.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/6088</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/6088</link>
<title>PubMed Plus (Penn Only)</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;PubMed is the public access version to Medline, the premier database for biomedical literature. PubMedPlus is an enhanced version with links to full-text journals that the Penn Library subscribes to. Once the &amp;quot;Log-in&amp;quot; is completed, any full-text articles to which Penn Libraries subscribe will become available within the PubMed system by clicking on the Penn Text icon. The MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature. The PubMed version of MEDLINE includes the PREMEDLINE database, which provides very current basic citation information and abstracts before the full records are prepared and added to MEDLINE. New records are added to PREMEDLINE daily. In addition, for participating journals that are indexed selectively for MEDLINE, PubMed includes all articles from that journal, not just those that are included in MEDLINE. PubMed is also the literature component of the Entrez retrieval system for molecular biology information. To retrieve Bioethics articles, limit search to Bioethics subset.&amp;nbsp; Holdings: 1950 to the present. Updated daily.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/6086</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/6086</link>
<title>EBSCO MegaFILE</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;EBSCO MegaFILE&lt;br /&gt;General, multidisciplinary fulltext periodical database, covering all scholarly disciplines, with many general and popular magazines, and news sources. Includes bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000 periodicals.&lt;br /&gt;Holdings: Coverage varies: mostly 1990s to present.&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/6084</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/6084</link>
<title>PAIS International</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;PAIS International&lt;br /&gt;-from CSA Databases&lt;br /&gt;Bibliographic citations with indexing on contemporary public affairs and policy issues worldwide related to a wide range of topics: agriculture, banking, finance, business, demographics, education, health, environment, planning, public administration, law and legislation, and international relations. The PAIS Archive extends current PAIS coverage back to 1915. Materials indexed include journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, and Internet material. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.&lt;br /&gt;Holdings: 1915- &lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/6071</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/6071</link>
<title>MEDLINE (complete file)</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;The premier database for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology. Resources in all languages are represented. Searches can be limited to the Bioethics subset.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/6070</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/6070</link>
<title>Library and Information Services - Kennedy Institute of Ethics</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;Maintained by the Kennedy Institute of Bioethics, provides access to the databases ETHX and Genetics &amp;amp; Ethics and other resources such as the National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature, National Information Resource on Ethics and Human Genetics, and National Bioethics Advisory Commission Dgital Archive.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/6069</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/ered/6069</link>
<title>NLM Gateway</title>
<description>&lt;div class="mlacite"&gt;A unique Web-based system that provides simultaneous searching of multiple databases and resource types located at the National Library of Medicine. Individual searches can yield journal citations, books, serials, audio-visual material, consumer health information including drug information and meeting abstracts. The databases being searched simultaneously are: MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, LOCATORplus, MEDLINEplus, DIRLINE, AIDS Meetings, HSR Meetings and HSR Projects. References from the defunct databases&amp;nbsp; AIDSLINE, BIOETHICSLINE, HEALTHSTAR, HISTLINE, POPLINE and SPACELINE have been merged into MEDLINE. &lt;br /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/url/6068</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/url/6068</link>
<title>NRCBL: National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature</title>
<description>&lt;font size="1"&gt;From the Georgetown University Kennedy Institute of Ethics, Library &amp;amp; Information Services, &lt;/font&gt;&lt;font size="1"&gt;&lt;font face="Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif"&gt;the National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature (NRCBL), is a          specialized collection of books, journals, newspaper articles, legal materials,          regulations, codes, government publications, and other relevant documents          concerned with issues in biomedical and professional ethics. The library          holdings represent the world's largest collection related to ethical issues          in medicine and biomedical research.&lt;/font&gt;&lt;/font&gt;</description>
</item>
<item><guid isPermaLink="true">http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/url/537</guid>
<link>http://tags.library.upenn.edu/makerecord/url/537</link>
<title>Cinema Studies -- All Article Databases from the Penn Library</title>
<description>Here is a list of all article databases in Cinema Studies provided by the Penn Library. &lt;br /&gt;</description>
</item>
</channel>
</rss>
